The most dangerous item in my house

The most dangerous thing in my house is not the chainsaw. Not the stockpiles of Semtex. Not even the cigars.

The most dangerous item in my house is a piece of paper, attached to the wall, showing the map of the world.

world map old

It hangs on the wall of my dining room and I often find myself drawn to the map, standing before it and starting to dream.

On the map, I explore the continents I haven’t visited yet (South America) or those which I just briefly set my foot on for a few days (Africa, all of Asia east of Iran). I reminisce about the time when I was at the other end of the world (in Australia) or when I was hiking in California or when I took a cab from Beirut to Damascus in a snow storm. I marvel at the vastness of Russia and Canada, wondering how much of it I will ever be able to see. Plans of walking from Germany to Israel come and go, battling with plans to explore the islands of the Caribbean, the Indian subcontinent or the wonders of Zambia or Bolivia. Names that ring a mystical sound to me get connected with places, immediately triggering a thought process on how to get there: Zanzibar, Mogadishu, Kandahar, Suriname, Vladivostok, Timbuktu. I am fascinated by the tiny specks on the map like Bouvetøya, Saint Helena or Easter Island.

Noticing how relatively small Europe is, I am overwhelmed by the size of the continents I still wish to explore. Seeing that islands as far away as Saint Martin in the Caribbean or Réunion in the Indian Ocean are part of the European Union make me wonder why I don’t simply move there for a while, as I require no visa to do so. But then, looking at the boot and the football that Italy and Sicily, my current place of residence, form on the map, and knowing how much there is to see here, I wonder for how many countries and places I still have time left.

And thus I am dreaming… But if only one out of every fifty dreams will get fulfilled, it is still better than not dreaming at all.

About Andreas Moser

I am a lawyer in Germany, with a focus on international family law, migration and citizenship law, as well as constitutional law. My other interests include long walks, train rides, hitchhiking, history, and writing stories.
This entry was posted in Life, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The most dangerous item in my house

  1. Brenden says:

    I have the same problem. I have a world map, a map of Ireland (applying for citizenship), a map of Poland (did a semester abroad there) and a map of my home state of Wisconsin, USA. I am particularly drawn to the northern countries because they look so big on the wall maps. I want to get above the Arctic Circle sometime soon.

  2. djgarcia94 says:

    Out of curiosity, why do you have piles of Semtex?

  3. Marie says:

    Do you pin your trips on the map? :)

    • No, I don’t. It would be too depressing that all of my recent trips were just in Europe, which on the global scale of things is just a tiny speck.

  4. Pingback: Halbzeit | Der reisende Reporter

  5. Pingback: Half-Time | The Happy Hermit

  6. Kelly MacKay says:

    a few years ago I realized, I may not have time in my life to see ever place I want to. I may not get to Sri Lanka but I can get to Salisbury NB. So I have been traveling close to home. I have been thoroughly rewarded with the sites locally. There is no much to see and do with in a few hours of my home. cheers good luck

    • Very good point!
      I have now returned to university and won’t have that much time/money for longer trips, but I don’t think I’ll get bored. There is so much to discover even in little towns close by.

    • Kelly MacKay says:

      I’ll look forward to hearing about your close to home discoveries

  7. Pingback: Vor hundert Jahren wanderten zwei Männer aus dem Bayerischen Wald in die USA aus – Juni 1922: die Gebrüder Vogl | Der reisende Reporter

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions: