Car-free by choice

Testing the limits of my Jeep Cherokee.

No, I am not immune to charismatic cars. I have had some really cool cars myself: a Chevrolet Blazer S10 was the first one, then a Jeep Cherokee and finally a Jaguar XJ with a 222 HP engine. I loved the cars and I enjoyed them!

But 2 years ago, I decided to become car-free by choice. It has improved the quality of my life.

-For the money that I save on gas, insurance, repairs, taxes, and parking and speeding tickets, I could buy a yearly ticket for the rail and bus system. I always found a car a terrible investment: Not only does it lose in value dramatically the minute you put the key in the ignition for the first time, but you also pay insurance and taxes for 24 hours and 365 days a year although you only use your car maybe 2 hours a day.

Caught speeding (a bit) with my Jaguar XJ.

-Although some journeys take longer, I lose less time because I can read newspapers, books or do some work during the journey. Or just sleep, which is still more productive than being stressed out in a traffic jam.

-I plan my trips better now. I don’t just drive to the supermarket for a pizza, but I plan what I need to purchase for the next few days. I don’t drive to the library to pick up a book, but I make a list and go once a week to pick up 5 or 10. Being without a car has made me much more time-efficient and organised.

-I walk more, so I am of course also much fitter. Also, you’d be surprised how many new things you discover in the area that you have been living in once you start walking.

-And finally, it’s a good excuse if somebody whom you don’t necessarily want to see (family, in-laws etc.) invites you for dinner: “Sorry, I don’t have a car, I can’t really make it.”

Just give it a try!

About Andreas Moser

I am a lawyer in Germany, with a focus on international family law, migration and citizenship law, as well as constitutional law. My other interests include long walks, train rides, hitchhiking, history, and writing stories.
This entry was posted in Economics, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Car-free by choice

  1. mamanne says:

    Hmmm. I agree in theory – I’d love to save money by not having a car. However, in actuality this would not work well at all where I live. We have ridiculously limited public transportation, live out in the country so everything we do (work, school, church, etc.) is at least a 20 min. drive (therefore way too long of a bike ride or walk) and not real reasonable to bring home a load of groceries on a bike or on foot at that distance! It would be awesome to live somewhere that shopping, etc. was within a reasonable trek, or where a bus or train was involved. You are fortunate I think!

  2. Pingback: Venice by Boat | The Happy Hermit – Andreas Moser's Blog

  3. Pingback: Don’t be afraid of the stranger! | The Happy Hermit

  4. Pingback: “How do you finance your travels?” | The Happy Hermit

  5. Pingback: How to be Happy | The Happy Hermit

  6. Pingback: Ja zum Verzichtsumweltschutz, aber bitte richtig! | Der reisende Reporter

  7. Pingback: Frugality is a Virtue | The Happy Hermit

  8. Pingback: “How can you afford to travel so much?” | The Happy Hermit

  9. Pingback: Mit dem Boot durch Venedig | Der reisende Reporter

  10. Pingback: Ein Auto! Wofür? Egal! | Der reisende Reporter

  11. Pingback: An unexpected find | The Happy Hermit

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions: