Frugality is a Virtue

I am a very stingy person.

I wear my father’s old shirts. I wear shoes with holes. I don’t have a car. I walk in the rain to save the bus fare. I never buy anything new if the old stuff still works. I don’t make presents. In winter, I put my food outside, so that I can switch off the fridge. I always look for the cheapest shop. I go to cinemas in the afternoon when films are cheaper. When I feel hungry, I collect mushrooms in the forest.

Some people seem to be put off by this behavior of mine, particularly women.

Thus, I was excited to see that Congressman Gary Peters, an equally stingy guy, it seems, made a virtue out of it:

He won the election.

Henceforth, I shall no longer be ashamed of being stingy, but I shall advertise it as a virtue and recommend it to others. Being stingy is cool.

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Elections, Life, Politics, USA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Frugality is a Virtue

  1. Hessenhenker says:

    Why give the money back to the state, they use it for global warming and such crap.
    Give the money to me for my Krautfunding! Thanks.

  2. djgarcia94 says:

    I wouldn’t call any of that behavior you described “stingy.” Stinginess means not willing to share with others. At least that’s what in means in American English, I don’t know about in Britain.

  3. hrh7 says:

    Errr, in moderation, it is.
    But as a previously stingy and sick person, to myself most often, I really don’t like being stingy anymore. The value of my life increased exceedingly when I resolved to start spending money on me.

  4. Gia says:

    Frugal means “economical in use or expenditure; prudent saving or sparing; not wasteful”.
    Stingy means “reluctant to give or spend; not generous; penurious”.
    So which one is you or are you both?
    You say you have nothing to share but you can always share your smile your compassion your kindness etc..

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

