My Birthday

Today, I turned 35.

I am now older than what the average life expectancy for people in Swaziland (a small country in Southern Africa) is.

As I don’t feel old and I am still in fine shape physically and mentally, it’s an especially intense contrast. Had I not been lucky enough to be born in Germany, but unlucky enough to be born in Swaziland, I would now be – statistically – dead.

I don’t mean to spoil any party, and I realize that I cannot save the people in Swaziland or any other disadvantaged country. But maybe we could all try a bit harder?
At the very least, we could appreciate our time on this planet more and put it to some meaningful use.

About Andreas Moser

I am a lawyer in Germany, with a focus on international family law, migration and citizenship law, as well as constitutional law. My other interests include long walks, train rides, hitchhiking, history, and writing stories.
This entry was posted in Economics, Germany, Life, Philosophy, Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Birthday

  1. MARY JANE MAIQUEZ says:

    is this true?????? about the people who lied in swaziland????how sad it is…..it awful

  2. Pingback: New Year’s Resolutions for 2012 | The Happy Hermit – Andreas Moser's Blog

  3. Pingback: Giving Presents | The Happy Hermit

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions: