Scary Reptile

Before I went into the jungle in Bolivia, my biggest fear was of snakes.

But then, after a couple of days of wading through the green hell, completely lost, I heard something move in the tree above my head. I took a few steps back and saw this scary reptile lowering itself slowly. It moved like a snake, but it’s head was much bigger. I saw no eyes, no nose, it seemed like the whole head consisted only of claws ready to devour me.

reptile.JPG

It was the scariest thing I have ever seen.

I definitely ain’t going back to the jungle.

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Bolivia, Photography, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Scary Reptile

  1. renxkyoko says:

    That’s banana. We eat that as vegetable.

    • You are bananas!
      It was moving and the head alone was about 25 cm long. The mouth was opening and closing in regular intervals. Bananas don’t do that. Also, bananas are yellow.

    • List of X says:

      You eat these things like vegetables? Man, you guys are tough. :)

      • renxkyoko says:

        Well, it does look like a banana plant ( we have that in our backyard back in the Philippines ) and the fruit looks like that ( google it ) when it hasn’t grown into banana fruit yet (called banana blossoms )….. and in the Philippines, sometimes it’s cut off before it grows into banana, and cooked in dishes like a vegetable…… sometimes it’s dried, and sold as ” banana blossoms,” It’s not a whacky guess…. again, google it. I come from a country where banana plants are roadside plants.

      • Are they peaceful in the Philippines?

      • renxkyoko says:

        It’s exactly what you saw. And yes, banana plants are peaceful in the Philippines.

  2. Miriam says:

    I got shivers reading your post.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I suggest you read BACK FROM TUICHI OR AMAZONS fron Yossi Ghinsberg, he got lost in the bolivian jungle, it is an amazing history

  4. Anke Stirner says:

    Undiscovered species? Congrats for escaping alive!

  5. You went alone into the jungle?!

    • Oh no. The first time I went with ond friend, and the second time I went with 7 or 8 people, one of them a doctor working with the indigenous community which I visited.

  6. ensnaturae2 says:

    Hahahaha !!! it was, after all, as I barely dared to suspect..the undiscovered species..a German Joke! (If not………Only the ‘moving and attempt to kill’ remains a bit of a mystery..I think your companion had ..in secret..climbed the tree, and given your monster the life it never had…)

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

