Photo Studio in Bolivia

Around the office in Cochabamba, where I have to go every month to extend my Bolivian visa, there are all kinds of merchants and service providers: food, drinks, copies, foreign currencies, pens, flight tickets, you can get anything here.

And for those who forgot to bring a passport photo, there is a studio:

Fotostudio.JPG

A mirror, a white screen, a chair, why would one need more?

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Bolivia, Photography, Technology, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Photo Studio in Bolivia

  1. David says:

    And can I ask the cost for a photo?

  2. locotojhon says:

    Andreas,,,
    I wondered similarly as David did…but I learned long ago how ingenious Bolivian ‘pirate’–(read under the table) talent can be. I’ve seen some absolutely mind-boggling talented work done very well there, and inexpensively, too.
    Yes, the image can be gotten, but how about the printing and cropping-to-size of the photos?
    (Personally, I go to Relieve, and get the job done right. (591 71407079–I think))
    I don’t know how they do it–photo-shopped perhaps?–but their photos usually make me look younger and better looking than I am (and that’s a good thing for an ugly old fart, believe me).
    Most importantly, the image size is correct, and secondarily their prices seem good, too.
    (Just In case a deposit is taken under the trees and then magically disappears.)
    locotojhon

  3. List of X says:

    What more? Well, they could have a guy sitting at the plastic table in the shade issuing actual passports.

    • locotojhon says:

      ^5’s to you, List. (You sound like a Cochabambino.)
      Actually, the shooter went behind the tree when the camera came out.
      Oh,,you wanted actual passports?
      Never mind….

    • Maybe this just isn’t advertised openly. But I will ask next time. Although I will have to improve my Spanish greatly if I really want to use the Bolivian passport at the border.

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

