The Transformers of Podgorica

When I went to Podgorica, I stayed at a hotel because I had to run the half marathon. I didn’t want a Couchsurfing host to have to get up early on a weekend and to see me in my sweaty clothes upon my return (although I did exactly that to another Couchsurfing host in Budapest a few month later). But I did agree to meet with Marko, who wanted to give me a tour of Podgorica.

“Let’s meet at the central square, next to the transformer statue,” he had told me.

I had no idea who this Montenegrin transformer was, but I thought I would recognize it. Expecting something like the Jesus statue in Rio de Janeiro, I guessed it would have to be a hero, a partisan, an architect, a king, a monk.

Instead, it was a giant monstrosity composed of old metal and car tires, clothed in a supersized camouflage jacket, about 12 metes tall and with terrifying claws. It was one of the figures from the Transformers movie. Now I understood.

Transformer Platz der Republik

But Marko had been right, it did dominate Republic Square and was easy to find. Actually, the square was so empty that I felt silly for having told Marko exactly what I was wearing to make sure that we would recognize each other. Well, who would expect the central square of the capital city of a European country to be so empty on a Saturday afternoon? The giant Transformer must have scared everyone else away.

Transformer Platz der Republik 2

On our walk around town, I spotted a few more of these beasts.

Transformer1 Transformer2

Petar I

No wait, the last one is Petar I, who ruled Montenegro when it was a theocracy. Yes, we Europeans used to have theocracies, too. Which is even scarier than the Transformers.

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Films, Montenegro, Photography, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Transformers of Podgorica

  1. Dante says:

    Yes, we Europeans used to have theocracies, too. Which is even scarier than the Transformers.

    Of course, but this depends on which kind of transformers: Decepticons (the evil ones) or autobots (the good ones).

  2. Certainly the transformers are much more interesting to look at and involved much creativity from their makers!

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

