Sad Things (15) Postcard to myself

Every day, I run down the stairs with excitement to unlock my letterbox with great anticipation, awaiting postcards from around the world.

Every day, all I get is another disappointment. I can’t even remember when was the last time that I received a postcard. Probably some time in the last millennium.

So, when I was in Montenegro, I embarked on the most desperate thing that a person can do: to write a postcard to oneself. It was my last day. I had just come back from climbing the fortress in Kotor and visited an exhibition about Jan Karski, when I bought one postcard, wrote a short message to myself, went to the small post office in Kotor and hoped that the girl at the counter wouldn’t notice.

postcard1 postcard2When the postcard arrived at my home in Târgu Mureș in Romania a few days later, I was most excited about the positive and friendly words that I had bestowed upon myself and my journey. Finally, someone had thought of me.

But I didn’t fail to notice that even the gentleman on the stamps seems to wonder: “What is this guy doing?” By the way, you can see from the stamps that Montenegro – like Kosovo – uses the Euro as official currency although it’s not a member state of the European Union or the Eurozone. Maybe Greece can get some advice there.

(Zur deutschen Fassung.)

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Montenegro, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sad Things (15) Postcard to myself

  1. I often send myself postcards, nothing wrong with that! :D

  2. Pingback: Eine Postkarte an mich selbst | Der reisende Reporter

  3. Lou-ter-Lou says:

    Just get yourself a split personality and all the desperation of sending postcards to yourself will be gone. It works! We know!

  4. Pingback: A postcard from North Korea! | Traveller on a Mission

  5. Tulsi says:

    Great idea! I love sending postcards to other people, but I didn’t realise that I could be the recipient of the excitement too… :)

  6. Gaeleigh T. says:

    I’ve been sending myself postcards since 1997 (not sooner only because I never left my home state until then). I don’t think I ever felt sad about it. I must say it always brings a smile to my face to know that I am worth the price of a stamp, at least, to myself.

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

