Tampa? Overrated!

My friends from Florida kept inviting me to Tampa, saying how great it is, how hip and cool and lots of other adjectives that didn’t really convince me. But I was in the area anyway, so I stopped by.

I shouldn’t have bothered. There is nothing going on in Tampa. It’s completely hyped up.

But see for yourself. This is the view as you enter Tampa. Not very promising, is it?

Tampa

Tampa sign

One particular bar had been recommended to me, but I almost missed it as I was cruising along the city’s only road. It seemed to have gone out of business already. Only a few boxes with empty bottles still indicated its former activities.

Tampa bar

It’s all cozy and green – more so than expected – but really no different than thousands of other cities towns villages around the world. One thing I have to say though, for an American city, the people there had a surprisingly good command of foreign languages.

(The photos were taken during a hike from Targu Mures to Miercurea Nirajului in Romania.)

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Photography, Romania, Travel, USA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tampa? Overrated!

  1. List of X says:

    And weren’t there supposed to be some kind of a sea there too?

  2. Pingback: Aber was sollen wir anbeten? | Der reisende Reporter

  3. Pingback: But what shall we worship? | The Happy Hermit

  4. The ocean side is in Pinellas county. The best place to visit is St Petersburg down town. It’s easy to miss down town Tampa, took us awhile to figure it out here as well.

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

