A cigar a day keeps the doctor away

In Budapest, I saw this health warning on a cigar which I bought to reward myself for having run my best result ever in a half marathon:

cigar appleI don’t speak Hungarian, but the picture of an apple indicated to me that this cigar is extra-healthy, has lots of vitamins and will make me live long and prosper. I knew cigars were good for my health!

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Health, Hungary, Language and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A cigar a day keeps the doctor away

  1. ZaCook says:

    I don’t speak/ read Hungarian either, but with the help of google translate, I bet it says something like: “smoking causes aging”… and I think that’s more like a wrinkled apple hence “premature skin aging”. Hungarian speakers bring light onto this matter!
    I think is a better strategy to place an apple on a cigar pack (you didn’t see that coming) rather than one of those ugly throat cancer pictures that all smokers completely ignore, right?! Congrats on you half marathon result! :)

    • Ahhh, that makes sense! Well, I am a guy, I don’t care about wrinkles. :-)

      I actually cannot ignore those ugly pictures. They really scare me. But I only smoke cigars and cigar boxes or tubes don’t usually have them.

      Thank you! I have proven that smoking cigars does not mean that you can’t run and finish half marathons.

      • ZaCook says:

        No, you most definitely can! But won’t don’t get the benefits of either! :D
        Most of my smoker friends just turn the package throat cancer don’t! Not seeing it makes it not there!

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

