Bird update (2)

Thanks for asking about the little bird. It is doing great, not least due to my tender care.

This was on day 2, already looking a bit more like a bird than it did before:

bird2Here some rare shots of mother and child together (usually the mother flies off as soon as I step on the balcony):

bird3

bird4

I have been feeding them seeds and put up a bowl of water. The bird family appreciates both very much. I refresh it only once every day, to disturb them as little as possible. Over the time, I have noticed that the pigeon realizes that I pose no danger and that she has become far less shy. I wonder how my support will shape the little bird’s opinion of humans. It might be hard for it to reconcile conventional bird teaching with his positive experience on my balcony.

This last photo shows day 5 in the life of the chick:

bird5

If I ever study biology or zoology, I should get academic credit for this.

(Zur deutschen Fassung.)

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bird update (2)

  1. Pingback: Neues aus dem Vogelnest (2) | Der reisende Reporter

  2. It’s great to see the chick is doing well! I do hope she sits with it most of the time because it looks a little chilly!

    • I was also worried about that because the first few days were very cold. The mother is there almost always. There is also a father, but he seems to be at work most of the time.
      In the past few days it got warmer. And the nest is behind the wall of the balcony, so it’s protected against direct wind.

  3. David says:

    Good work there Andreas however a serious note of caution. Should you decide to clean up the nest once the baby takes to the air “DO NOT” breath in any of the dust in the area. The dust from birds nests can cause a fatal respiratory disease. I lost a client who decided to clean out a birds nest in his roof eves after they had left. Take care.

  4. Pingback: Bird update (3) | The Happy Hermit

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

