I was only gone for two weeks…

Returning home from two weeks of traveling, I step on the balcony to air out my sneakers, which I had been wearing without interruption for far too long. That is when I notice the new tenant which has moved in while I had been gone.

Nest1Of all the prefabricated balconies in the neat residential area, mine must have been the most inactive one, so that the bird couple selected it as its nesting place.

Unfortunately the pigeon is scared and flutters up each time I step on the balcony. Because I don’t want to disturb the brooding of the egg, I am very careful whenever I move onto my balcony now. Slowly, the birds are getting used to me. – Does anyone know how long the hatching process takes? I hope my balcony won’t need to be declared a bird sanctuary zone for the whole summer.

Nest2

By the way, I don’t put my shoes on the balcony anymore. I don’t want the bird baby to be born with any deformations.

If you are interested, I will keep you posted about further developments.

(Zur deutschen Fassung.)

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I was only gone for two weeks…

  1. Pingback: Kaum ist man mal zwei Wochen weg… | Der reisende Reporter

  2. Definitely keep us informed!

  3. vidavidav says:

    <3 Andreas is expecting a baby bird hahahahahaha (just could not resist! :D). Please do!

  4. Shannon says:

    Pigeon eggs take about 18 days to incubate so if you were gone for 2 weeks, you could be waiting anywhere from 3-4 days to a full 18 :P We found an injured adult pigeon a few years back and nursed it back to health and he/she became very friendly! Chances are your new baby pal will be a very friendly little thing when it hatches :)

  5. Ann says:

    So do you have young yet?
    It has been awhile since we raised pigeons, but I believe, as Shannon says, it takes about 19 days for the eggs to hatch, and about 4 weeks for the young to leave the nest, although mine used to lay 2 eggs. Though they would ,raise the young to the end of their feathering and then have another brood started.
    So be aware, if another nest begins along side that one, you may be in for a surprise!

  6. Pingback: Bird update (1) | The Happy Hermit

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

