Romanian Snickers

I went to the market today to get a Snickers bar. After all this healthy and light food over Christmas, I wanted to celebrate the end of the year with some chocolate.

The lady at the chocolate stand informed me that there was no Snickers this week. Probably the truck had been stuck in the snow somewhere. She asked whether I wanted “a Romanian Snickers” instead. I had never heard of it, but my curiosity was sparked. Emphatically, and tired of one week of salad, rice and vegetables, I said “yes”.

She handed me a huge piece of an extremely dense and heavy combination of chocolate and cake. See the photo for scale.

Romanian SnickersWhen I cut off a slice, I discovered that it even had fruits inside. It tastes magnificently! But you can only eat such a small amount of it that it will last for weeks.

It’s a great invention which I am sure will take over the world market soon. When you will see it in stores from Canada to Australia, remember that you first read about it here. And never get the king-size version! It’s twice as long as this one and weighs several pounds.

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Food, Romania. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Romanian Snickers

  1. ZaCook says:

    That looks a lot like “salam de biscuiți” which is more like a Romanian “cake bite” than a Snickers chocolate. Now let’s say what you have to say about last year’s Presidential elections…

    • I should eat more of the meals that you present on your blog. They look very healthy and yummy! Do you need a food taster? ;-)

      Here are my thoughts on the Romanian election as I wrote them on the night of the election: https://andreasmoser.wordpress.com/2014/11/17/iohannis-ponta/

      • ZaCook says:

        I’m always looking for new food tasters! :)
        Yes, I saw the post last night and liked your humour very much! If you’re still in Romania and like the cuisine, you should try one of the restaurants “La Mama”.

      • Yes, I am still in Romania until May. Where in Romania do you live, so that I know where to come for really good food? I live in Targu Mures. (I am so tired of the few things that I know how to cook for myself.)

  2. ZaCook says:

    I am in US for now. When I am in Romania I am either in Bucharest, Calarasi or Buhalnita (a small village in Ceahlau). I will be in Romania starting July, I hope. Well, if you have any Romanian stuff/ food stuff related questions, you know where to find me.

  3. What the hell IS that?

  4. Really? That’s not exactly a Snickers..
    It’s a pretty basic recipe, I’ll bring you some home-made real ones when we go hiking.

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

