Air Baltic making it hard to unsubscribe

You know that yourself: you once bought a cinema ticket or booked a flight from a website and since then you receive their e-mail newsletter even though you don’t really want it. In my case, matters are made worse because I move to a different country at least once a year, so I really don’t need cinema tickets in Vilnius or invitations from the British Library anymore.

Some organisations make it easy to unsubscribe. One click and you are gone. They are the nice ones.

Others make it terribly hard. You need to fill out huge forms, re-confirm your wish to leave, and some don’t offer that option at all so that you need to block their e-mail address manually. They are the evil ones.

And then there is Air Baltic, a Latvian airline. They try to appeal to your heart. Look at the page you get to when you click on “unsubscribe”: a sobbing girl and the line “sorry to see you leaving”. That makes you think twice, doesn’t it? Well, it didn’t work with me because I have no heart.

air baltic sorry to see you leavingI also find it quite clever that they offer to snooze one’s subscription for 3 months. Maybe I should offer that on my blog, so that people don’t need to unsubscribe completely just because they have been annoyed or outraged by one of my posts (which happens often).

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Latvia, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Air Baltic making it hard to unsubscribe

  1. Ma Lta says:

    It disn’t work with me too. Most probably because i’m a gay man.

  2. Expat Eye says:

    Ha ha! Love that! I think I’m subscribed to them as well. Oh, and I’m still getting offers on ‘Last minute deals to Daugavpils’ from booking.com. Um, no thanks :)

  3. LOL, hilarious! Und dann auch noch in giftgrün :)

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

