Did you miss your train?

Well, I may have found it for you:

train Rometta Marea(Seen in somebody’s garden behind the train station in Rometta Marea.)

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Italy, Photography, Sicily, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Did you miss your train?

  1. Kavita Joshi says:

    this is an interesting pic and interesting place to find a train :)

  2. This is probably the remains of the train the derailed back in 2002 I think or thereabouts. There was an accident between Messina and Rometta. They probably just dumped it there and forgot about it. The usual thing to do in Sicily!!

    • Ahhh, that explains it! I was really wondering what the story could possibly be behind a train ending up in somebody’s backyard.

      • Yes, I remember seeing a news story and then a while after when I drove along the Palermo/Messina autostrada I saw the train in question left by the side of the tracks at Rometta. I guess they simply dumped it in the bushes.

  3. Alessio Salzano says:

    There’s a wikipedia page on this incident: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rometta_Marea_derailment

    • Alessio Salzano says:

      (sorry about doble posting, I accidentally pressed “Post Comment)
      I remember the extremely loud sound of the collision (I heard it from my house!) and the crowd of people that gathered to see what happened (in July Rometta doubles – or even triples – its population!)

      • I have to somehow keep this information from Maryam, or she will henceforth be scared each time we will be on the train. :-)

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

