Sunset at my Beach in Sicily

One of the great things about my recent move to Sicily is the house in Rometta Marea where I live and it’s proximity to the sea. I can see the sea from my balcony when I am studying or enjoying the results of my increasingly Italian cooking skills. I fall asleep to the sound of the waves. I can go for a spontaneous swim whenever the weather is good. And yes, I have been swimming even now in October.

I don’t know how many meters I live from the sea, but I counted the exact number of steps from my home to the sea: it’s 122 steps. And that’s not until I reach the sand beach, but after 122 steps I am already standing in the water.

Today, it was also a beautiful spot to watch the sunset, looking towards Milazzo.

Rometta Marea sunset 1

Rometta Marea sunset 2

Rometta Marea sunset 3Yes, at this time of the year the beach is almost always as empty as in these photos.

(zur deutschen Version dieses Artikels)

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Italy, Photography, Sicily, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sunset at my Beach in Sicily

  1. Hans Rutkowski says:

    Are Sicilian girls easy to find and tame?

  2. Kavita Joshi says:

    you are very lucky Andreas..or I must say smart to make the right choices ….love these pics and jeleous of you that you are living in this place so close to beach :) Have a lovely weekend ….

  3. Brenden says:

    Congratulations on the move. I am guessing the winter in Sicily will be quite different than the one in Vilnius.

  4. Golden….love it!

  5. Calin S says:

    Yeah, I don’t understand why people are not swimming now..even if it’s october..it’s not so cold.

  6. Pingback: Sonnenuntergang an meinem Strand in Sizilien | Briefe aus Italien

  7. About where is that on the island – near which major town? I’m trying to tie it in to my (admittedly limited) mental map of Sicily from WW2.

    • In the very northeast, between Milazzo and Messina. Very far from the landing zones of “Operation Husky”, but I hope to go there and write about that a bit as well.

      • Ah yes – where everybody was so busy racing each other to capture Messina, most of the German forces, and a large number of Italians, managed to slip across the Straits to face the Allies in the mountains of Italy. While I am a fan of Gen. Patton, I have to knock him for going for the glory of the popular victory, rather than letting Monty have Messina and Patton closing off the crossing sites. (Yeah, I know, hindsight is always 20-20! :) )

  8. Pingback: Mountains in Romania | The Happy Hermit

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

