Sad Things (3) Yahoo Messenger

When I started to use the internet in the late 1990s, I also signed up to the Yahoo messenger. It was an easy way to find like-minded people (and attractive girls) before the time of Facebook or Couchsurfing and I made a few friends there whom I later met in real life.

At times, it was nice to go online and see somebody with whom I could chat away the night instead of studying property law. At other times, the constant bleeping and messaging was a nuisance. But always somebody was there. Even if it was 0300 at home, in some distant time zone somebody was awake.

Now when I sign in on my Yahoo messenger, it looks like this:

yahoo messenger emptyEmpty. Totally empty. Did everybody die? Or did everybody grow up? Or did technology evolve?

Another sign of how relentlessly life moves on. And yes, I know that people use Skype now.

“andreas_lawyer” on both Skype and Yahoo IM (I finally got rid of the Yahoo Messenger in 2014.)

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sad Things (3) Yahoo Messenger

  1. german by blood says:

    I was stuck in the aol world, and still have aol But now i think that is old school also I stop over at my aunt that is 74 and she was video skyping on her I pad… I think i need to take some classes!

    • Stefan MD says:

      actually Skype is also kind of old-school. Or rather, you use it to communicate directly with people you already know rather than to get to know new people.

      It’s a means of communication rather than a social community

  2. Pingback: A walk around Isfahan | The Happy Hermit

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

