High Expectations

As I am studying Philosophy, I couldn’t resist to share this study that analyses the mathematical and verbal aptitudes of students in different courses and reaches – inter alia – the following conclusion: “Philosophers are the smartest humanists, physicists the smartest scientists, economists the smartest social scientists.”

I hope I will be able to live up to these high expectations. And no, I don’t see any chance of me studying Physics next. Economics maybe.

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Economics, Education, Philosophy, Statistics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to High Expectations

  1. John Erickson says:

    Don’t worry, Andreas. If you can figure out the confusing world of philosophy, physics will be an easy task. I studied the fundamentals of both years ago – I gave up on philosophy. Somehow, I found it much easier to conceive of a sub-atomic unit as being both a wave and a particle, than I did trying to work out the various cornerstones of philosophy! And I’d be happy to lend you whatever aid I can on the physics education – I do my best to stay current with CERN in Europe and Fermilab here in the States.
    Oh, and thanks for the graph. Seems I chose the “least educated” of my interests for a vocation (computer programming), and let my hobbies require far more intelligence. Maybe philosophy could explain why…….

    • John Erickson says:

      Maryam- I wish the girls I went to high school and college had thought that way. Since I look like a cross between Curly of the 3 Stooges, and the baby on the Gerber baby food jars, I needed all the help I could get!
      I really like the poster of “The World Of Communication” on your website! Your illustrations are also beautiful, and wonderfully intricate. Your work is very good! Congratulations!

  2. Louis says:

    I’m into Philosophy the old school way: Life, and the way it evolves per second. I don’t think anything else could be as original as my own experience.

    Psychology and the way a mind can develop. Now, that’s where Mr. Jung comes into the picture.

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

