Sabbatical

Effective 31 July 2009, I will close my law firm and go on a sabbatical for at least one year.

I thank all of you who have put your trust into me as your lawyer in the past 7 years. With my concentration in international family law, you have allowed me to learn a lot about life in different cultures and countries. This has been a great experience. I am especially proud of all the cases in which we together managed to perform separations in a way that least affected your children and after which you and your ex-partner still managed to be on speaking terms and continue to work together as parents. I will also never forget the cases in which I was able to successfully return your children to your homes after they had been abducted to other countries.

And finally, working in family law has reaffirmed my decision to never get married or start a family myself. :-)

My decision to leave work for a while has certainly been accelerated by the events in Iran in June 2009:
I had traveled to Iran to witness the historic situation in the aftermath of the rigged election. Not only was I beaten by Iranian police several times at one demonstration, but I was also arrested for meeting with an Iranian human rights lawyer. I was imprisoned and interrogated by Iranian Interior Intelligence Service. I spent 6 days at Evin prison in Tehran, with nobody outside knowing of my whereabouts or my situation. No information was given to me, either. I was in solitary confinement, had to sleep on the floor, and was blindfolded each time I left my cell. At times, I had gotten used to the thought of spending a few years in that prison.
My release was only due to an incredible amount of luck.

After this experience, my priorities have shifted quite a bit.
Some of the problems that I have had to deal with as a lawyer suddenly seem rather petty and unimportant to me.
Now that I appreciate every single day in freedom, I want to concentrate more on my own personal development and pursue my interests in literature, history, politics, philosophy, travelling. There are just too many things I still have on my life’s “to do list” for me to wait until regular retirement age in another 30 years.

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in German Law, Law, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sabbatical

  1. Pingback: What a greedy child | Publish or Perish – Andreas Moser's Blog

  2. Pingback: If only it were so easy | Publish or Perish – Andreas Moser's Blog

  3. Pingback: Babies are (not) Taboo | Publish or Perish – Andreas Moser's Blog

  4. Pingback: FAQ on working with me as your lawyer | Publish or Perish – Andreas Moser's Blog

  5. Hoo Sze Ling says:

    I can see you’re intelligent and interesting; not just because you read law but the marriage bit. Wise men learn from fools’ mistakes.

    Iran – Close call that one.

    Happy travels!

  6. Tomi Milos says:

    That is good to hear! I think you would really like Paulo Coelho’s “The Alchemist”, I suggest you check it out if you haven’t already.

  7. Pingback: More Pestering Questions from the Philippines | The Happy Hermit – Andreas Moser's Blog

  8. Pingback: Time Management: “No thanks!” | The Happy Hermit

  9. Pingback: How to find a good Lawyer | The Happy Hermit

  10. Pingback: Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch Changes | Beyond Beauty Tips

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes,They are Scary | My Blog

  12. angloswiss says:

    I find no words to comment on this. I can only say you have earned my deep respect. und viel Glück für die Zukunft.

  13. arrowtarget says:

    I’d follow the cigar smoke… Blessed days and nights all the time!

  14. Good for you taking such a significant leap of faith!

  15. Pingback: Letting It Go – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  16. My hat goes off to you and all the experiences lived and surpassed. And Cheers to stepping in to the world with a dare devil, risk taking approach! Kudos

  17. Erika says:

    Wow!!! I have no doubts that an experience like that would lead one to shift priorities and just go after what you feel called to do! I’m glad you found a positive from that awful situation, and also, just way to go to go, being a successful lawyer, too. Really important work, you’ve done, and it seems like you are continuing to do. Inspirational!

  18. Kavita Joshi says:

    bravo…a little late to say this as I just read this…but well done…I might be writing something like this soon I hope

  19. Pingback: Video Blog: Don’t Change Your Life! | The Happy Hermit

  20. Pingback: Opening a Law Office again | The Happy Hermit

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

