Dark clouds are not necessarily bad

… at least not for photographers.

I took so many photos of the church of Saint John at Kaneo in Ohrid in Macedonia, but I’ll share the ones which show that this was not a perfect day. It had been raining on and off, and I spent a few hours walking around, always rushing back to the Orthodox church as soon as the sun broke through the clouds for a minute.

dark clouds Sveto Jovan Ohrid 1 dark clouds Sveto Jovan Ohrid 2 dark clouds Sveto Jovan Ohrid 3Patience (lucky me that I had cigars and a book with me) and seeking out a good spot while it was still overcast paid off.

(Hier geht es zur deutschen Fassung.)

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Macedonia, Photography, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dark clouds are not necessarily bad

  1. Pingback: Dunkle Wolken müssen nicht schlecht sein | Der reisende Reporter

  2. I love dark clouds. Your photos capture them in a way that brings a longing to go there.

  3. Was it windy? When I look at the first photo, I like to imagine sitting under a tree on a hill, just enjoying the breeze and thinking of nothing in particular while looking out at that view.

    • It was not windy, that’s why it took so long for the clouds to go away.
      But there was a hill above the church (from where the first two photos were taken), and I sat down there with a book, smoked a cigar and enjoyed the beautiful view and the quiet, relaxing day.
      Ohrid is very busy and too touristy for my taste, so I was happy about the clouds and the rain because it meant fewer tourists than there would have been on a perfect sunny day.

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

