Utility Outage

This week,

  • I was without electricity (and thus without internet) for half a day after a thunderstorm,
  • I ran out of gas in the kitchen,
  • and I haven’t had water all weekend after the pipe leading to my neighborhood burst.

After this experience, I can recommend unequivocally: if you ever have to choose between these three utilities, try not to lose the water. Without electricity, you can’t work, but you can still read (during sunlight hours), you can go for a run and it can even be nice to have an excuse to postpone work. Without gas, you can’t cook, but there are worse things than eating out. But without water, life is messy and dirty, in the literal sense.

Luckily, my very helpful landlord came by and arranged for me to pick up water from a friend’s house close by (but apparently served by a different water pipe). So I am carrying buckets full of water across the street to be prepared for my next use of the toilet.

water-buckets-on-headMillions, if not billions, of people have to do this every day. Not just once, but for all of their lives. They have to walk much farther distances. In areas more dangerous. And their water doesn’t always come out of a tap, but it’s a filthy brew.

Maybe providing access to clean water to everyone should be a priority. I bet that a lot of people could be helped with all the money you put into your I-phones, space programs and Google Glass.

About Andreas Moser

You will most likely find me in the forest, next to the lake, reading a book. Just follow the cigar smoke!
This entry was posted in Economics, Environment, Health, Human Rights, Life, Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Utility Outage

  1. brokenradius says:

    Hi Andreas, also worth to consider is failure of heating. Maybe not a big issue for somebody like you who can escape a cold apartment by doing a run outside, but for elder people or people with young kids it can be a problem. But this might soon turn more and more into problems with failing air-conditioning, at least if we believe in the projected climate changes.
    greetings,
    Michael

  2. Robert Passig says:

    I live in Kathmandu, Nepal. No electricity 12 hours a day. Contaminated water, maybe, 30 minutes a week. Few paved roads and way too many cars. One of the most polluted cities in the world. I treasure every minute of electricity and every time I turn on a faucet when I back home.

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

