Moving to Bari

After six months in Sicily, I have come to love this island, which surprised me with its diversity, fascinating landscapes, beautiful cities, interesting islands, great food and genuinely friendly and humorous people. It became home immediately.

But it’s time to move on.

Bari on Italy mapI will stay in Italy until the rest of the year, but transfer to the mainland (or “the continent” as some people here say). Next week, I will move to Bari, capital city of Apulia.

I have never been to this part of Italy, and I am looking forward to exploring the south, the regions of Apulia, Basilicata, Calabria, Campania and the Adriatic coast. Bari also has a busy ferry port with connections to the Balkans and I hope I will find the time for my first visits to Montenegro and Albania.

Why did I pick Bari?

One simple reason. I came across this video and I was impressed how happy the city and its people are:

“Wow, living with people like that, I’ll be in a good mood all day every day,” I thought and made the decision. I am quick decider. – Only later did I find out that this “We are happy” song has been turned into videos from almost any city on earth. Well, I’ve never been on top of the music and entertainment news.

Since then I have been warned by some Italians about the terrible accent spoken in Bari. Some have even called it “the ugliest city in Italy”. We will see. I am curious and excited. Stay on board to follow my journey!

UPDATE:

I have arrived in Bari and it’s a beautiful city! I live very close to the waterfront and to the beautiful old city with magnificent churches and a castle. There are plenty of parks around and the whole city is very lively and friendly. – No idea where these negative remarks came from.

About the accent: sometimes I am not sure if people speak barese or Arabic.

(Diesen Beitrag auf Deutsch lesen.)

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Apulia, Italy, Music, Sicily, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Moving to Bari

  1. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

    Good luck with the move! There are always good and bad sides to a place and I am sure you will find nice things about Bari!

  2. Pingback: Ich ziehe nach Bari | Der reisende Reporter

  3. dino bragoli says:

    Very nice. @1.30 in the clip there is a presenter from http://www.striscialanotizia.mediaset.it/
    He also appears at @3.30. He covers pro social stories from the South. The Happy song from Napoli is also very good… As for leaving Sicily, listen to what you are leaving behind! Daria is from Palermo…

  4. dino bragoli says:

    This might help, there again it might not.

  5. Pingback: Sad Things (9) BND palm tree | The Happy Hermit

  6. Denise Davis says:

    I was in Bari for a week last September. Beautiful…
    I had posted a question about my ability to naturalize in Germany, but it doesn’t appear that it was answered. I was born in West Germany in 1959 and lived in Schwalbach Am Taunus (Frankfurt) until I moved to attend college in the USA at age 20. I took 14 years of German and minored in German in college. Can I apply for a German passport?

  7. Pingback: An envelope in an envelope in an envelope | The Happy Hermit

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

