Your favourite blogger at work on Stromboli

In order to find the best stories and photos for this blog, no efforts are too much and no risk is too high. I cross deserts on foot, I spend months on distant islands, I infiltrate Al-Qaeda, I fly into space and I report from civil war zones.

There are no photos of many of these adventures because I usually travel alone. But last week, my father was with me and managed to capture this shot of me working:

Andreas Moser Stromboli

This was on Stromboli, an active volcano. I stand on the edge of the crater which keeps disseminating poisonous gases. Despite the mask, my lungs are burning. The pain signals me that they will soon stop functioning if I will stay that close to the smoke-filled abyss for a few more minutes. Eruptions are thundering deep down. Rocks and lava are thrown hundreds of meters into the air.

And what am I doing, eye in eye with these forces of nature? I am taking notes. For you, my esteemed readers! It’s a tough job, but somebody has to do it.

You will read the full report of the ascent of Stromboli on this blog soon.

(Zur deutschsprachigen Version.)

About Andreas Moser

You will most likely find me in the forest, next to the lake, reading a book. Just follow the cigar smoke!
This entry was posted in Italy, Photography, Sicily, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Your favourite blogger at work on Stromboli

  1. Pingback: Ihr Lieblingsblogger bei der Arbeit auf Stromboli | Der reisende Reporter

  2. dino bragoli says:

    Wow! Your cigar smoke cloud can be seen from space!

    • I had actually taken some Toscanelli to the volcano with me, but the sulfur in the air dissuaded me from smoking. One guy in the group however did light up a cigarette.

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

