Big Lemon

When I was in Palermo for New Year’s Eve, I saw this stall with lemons, some of them the size of an American football. They were sold as a snack and I tried one of course. It’s less sour than a lemon, but still very refreshing. It’s far less juicy and consists almost exclusively of white pith.

big lemonThe vendor told me that they are actually not lemons, but that they have a different name. But I forgot it, of course. I am really not good in memorizing food.

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Food, Italy, Photography, Sicily, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Big Lemon

  1. Alessio Salzano says:

    I think these may be citrons (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citron), zitronatzitrone in german: (http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zitronatzitrone)

  2. djgarcia94 says:

    I didn’t even know Europe had such big fruit.

  3. dino bragoli says:

    Hello playmates. I’ve been up an Italian mountain in the Val D’arda Piacenza so no internet…
    I haven’t seen any lemons as big as this though. I’ve seen some very large pine cones but they don’t taste good at all…

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

