Google Maps knows what is really dangerous

While planning my next adventure, I asked Google Maps for a suggested route for walking from Pakistan to Syria.

Google Maps sidewalk

From my irregular reading of newspapers and my reading of Karl May’s books a little while longer ago, I thought I remembered something about this route being more than just hemmed with war, terrorists, civil war, minefields, kidnappers and highwaymen. For these dangers, I was thus prepared.

But I was completely hit between the eyes by another, potentially deadly threat which only Google Maps pointed out to me:

Google Maps sidewalk-001Good that I still read this warning in time! In light of this danger, I will rather shelve the plans for this walk for now.

(Zur deutschsprachigen Version dieses Artikels.)

About Andreas Moser

You will most likely find me in the forest, next to the lake, reading a book. Just follow the cigar smoke!
This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Iran, Maps, Syria, Technology, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Google Maps knows what is really dangerous

  1. Pingback: Google Maps weiß, was wirklich gefährlich ist | Mosereien

  2. dino bragoli says:

    I think that I wouldn’t do that journey in a fully armoured fighting vehicle but if I did I wouldn’t have the worry of getting a ticket for parking on the pavement if I stopped for a sandwich and a cup of tea.
    Pedestrians walking around or riding camels while talking on satellite phones and not taking due care or attention which is very dangerous btw, will be less of a problem, because in the Netherlands they have recently experimented with removing all road markings, traffic lights and street signs at junctions and replacing it all with a large tree planted in the middle of the road.
    Even though it sounds as though the Hollanders been hitting the Coffee Shops pretty hard, it apparently works well, accidents have been drastically reduced and Boris Johnson is considering it for London.
    http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2002/jun/30/uk.transport

  3. Thanks for this amusing news. Best regards Martina

  4. Jumbo Joe says:

    Most of USA is missing sidewalks…..

  5. Robert Miner says:

    Very clever! I had to laugh out loud, even here in our office. Please keep them coming.
    (By the way, this is “close to home”, as we are working here in Jordan among Syrian refugees. I can testify, lacking sidewalks are not among the greatest challenges in this part of the world!)

  6. Hahaha that’s funny! I get the same warning when I use my iphone so search up the nearest Deutsche Bank or Lidl within walking distance…only for them to find one in Berlin or something!

What do you think?

