Video Blog: Vulcano

Travelling is fun. Hiking around islands in the Mediterranean is especially fun. Putting these adventures on the record for my esteemed readership sometimes feels like work. Work is no fun at all.

That’s why, during the ascent of the highest point of the island of Vulcano, I had the idea of turning my blog into a video blog. I don’t have to take any more notes, nor do I later have to decipher them, I don’t have to take any photos, I don’t have to think a lot about my words. I will speak into the camera spontaneously and you will see the environment in the background. Simple and practical.

In the following video, I try to explain how my ascent onto the 500-meter high summit is made harder by volcanic activity. Fumaroles are emitting smoke and toxic gases. The temperature is several hundred degrees. Sulphur and other toxins are dissolving my shoes as soon as I remain standing in one spot for too long. I stand at the edge of the Great Crater and one wrong gust of wind would throw me into the claws of the brewing volcano.

The wind was a problem indeed, not only due to the increased danger to my life, but also because it makes it unable for you to follow my eloquent and informative presentation. Therefore I subsequently limited myself to filming the volcanic activity itself, without me talking in between or squeezing myself into the frame.

Due to the bad sound quality, it looks like I will still have to publish a full report on my ascent of that volcano soon.

warning sign Vulcano(Diesen Video-Blog gibt es natürlich auch auf Deutsch.)

About Andreas Moser

You will most likely find me in the forest, next to the lake, reading a book. Just follow the cigar smoke!
This entry was posted in Films, Italy, Sicily, Technology, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Video Blog: Vulcano

  1. Pingback: Video-Blog: Vulcano | Mosereien

  2. Collette Watkins says:

    You don’t look Jewish.

  3. List of X says:

    This video-blogging thing looks really dangerous.

  4. dino bragoli says:

    I loved the video blog! A good carbon filter mask and army boots might be useful up there!
    I don’t know that much about cameras but can you record a voiceover after recording the images?
    If so you could narrate after the event, or you could try a big piece of upholstery foam over the microphone. If all that fails just blog the images, they are great!

  5. dino bragoli says:

    Just looked at the films again and I love the way you are looking over your shoulder, you seem worried…. lol. You should be, the mountain might decide to clear it’s throat and spit at you!
    It would be bloody dangerous if it did!

  6. Pingback: After the Volcano | The Happy Hermit

  7. Pingback: Lipari – Day 1 | The Happy Hermit

  8. Pingback: A Relaxing Video Blog | The Happy Hermit

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

