Storm & Sea

When I was a child, I used to run outside and play when it was stormy and rainy. I loved thunderstorms and fierce winds. The worse, the better.

Later, as a young adult, when it stormed and rained, I was worried that my suit or my lawyer’s files would get wet. I sought shelter in a café, hoping that I had enough of a newspaper or a book with me to pass the time it would take the storm to move on.

When, two years ago, I first lived by the sea, I got excited about storms and the waves they caused, not least because they were beautiful to photograph.

strong waves

Now that I live in Sicily, when it is stormy weather, I think of the poor refugees in their boats and I hope that they will survive their journey.

strong waves 2(The photos were taken in Rometta Marea in Sicily on 16 October 2013. – Diesen Artikel gibt es auch auf Deutsch.)

About Andreas Moser

You will most likely find me in the forest, next to the lake, reading a book. Just follow the cigar smoke!
This entry was posted in Human Rights, Italy, Life, Philosophy, Photography, Sicily, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Storm & Sea

  1. Pingback: Sturm & Meer | Briefe aus Italien

  2. wow, beautiful pictures.

  3. Your post illustrates so well that almost all in life is a matter of perspective.

  4. dino bragoli says:

    So beautiful yet so treacherous. I hope that the desperate situation that causes people to attempt such a dangerous sea crossing soon improves. I can but hope…
    The EU has thrown a token amount of money at the problem, but the only thing that is going to help is regime change and/or a vast improvement in the dire straits that refugees are literally finding themselves in. The devil and the deep blue sea.
    Excellent photos btw!

  5. patz1W says:

    Beautiful photos and a beautiful post. I, too, think of the refugees whenever I go to the sea now.

  6. Brenden says:

    It seems your move has inspired you to post more pictures. It looks pretty.

  7. While I always wished the mariners well, my favourite times in Chicago were mid-January, when the stormy sky and the surface of Lake Michigan would turn the same colour and the spray would freeze on the rocks – and on me! (Yeah, I’ve always had a bit of a masochistic streak. ;) )

I am curious about your comments:

