Pushy person poses paradox

I receive a lot of questions through my blog and by e-mail, most of them about law. Some of them are interesting, some of them are funny, others are incomprehensible. The worst ones are those by people who believe that they are entitled to an answer or a reply. I never understand where such an entitlement would come from, in the absence of any contract between me and the e-mailing person.

Today, I received something from one of these people, but at least he managed to pose a real paradox (although I am not sure he intended to do so). Let’s take a look at his e-mail.

Hi Andreas
I have read a lot of your blog and it is very informative.
 

That’s true. It is very informative. It also informs you about how I deal with people who believe they are entitled to a reply, and about how to increase your chances of getting a reply.

I don’t mean to be pushy but I have attempted to contact you through 2 different mediums.
1. Your blog and
2. Via email.
 

“I don’t mean to be pushy but …” is as revealing as “I am not a racist but …”. And dear Sir, after already having exhausted two mediums, please don’t resort to the spiritual medium next.

If you are not interested in responding to my question then please tell me.

And here’s the paradox! If I tell you that I am not interested in responding, then I would be responding. But maybe I am that much disinterested in responding, that I really don’t want to respond. – The only way of resolving this paradox was to publish my answer. It’s not a direct response, but I still hope that the person so desperately longing for a response will find this blog post.

But then it gets better: some people who want a favour really believe that insulting the person that they want the favour from is a good idea.

If you can at least respond to this mail I will then know where I stand. I also understand that some problems are to [sic] complex and difficult and people do like the simpler life.

So, if I refuse to answer the questions of any- and everyone who e-mails me, I will be branded as a simpleton? Is that coming from the guy who can’t resolve his own problems without resorting to a lawyer? Accusing me of taking the route of the simple life without knowing the least bit about what I have been doing instead of answering this person’s e-mail is not a very promising method if you want to get my help, I can tell you.

e-mail Ronald Mann pushy paradoxBy the way, don’t let that scare you off. If you are nice, I’ll always be happy to help you, as thousands of my readers can attest to.

About Andreas Moser

You will most likely find me in the forest, next to the lake, reading a book. Just follow the cigar smoke!
This entry was posted in Law, Philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pushy person poses paradox

  1. Maybe she did not know when asking for FREE legal advice she should say Please and Thank You, if and when you take time out of your life to help her out.

  2. Matteo says:

    Just have auto-return on stating you went for your short walk down to the water to enjoy another wonderful sunset in your new location.

  3. Lulu Mast says:

    You’re a typical Attention Seeking Brat (ASB) with a progressing ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder).

  4. Kavita Joshi says:

    hmmm…..being lawer is different I can see…and you are always witty with your responses as well

  5. Ah, the imperatives of technology. Back in the day, people could not understand how I could spend an entire weekend miles away from ANY form of contact, and would occasionally get rather incensed when I would explain that when I was in character of a WW2 soldier, somehow having a pager or cell phone buried in my pack just ruined the whole effect!
    I wouldn’t lose any sleep over it. No answer IS an answer – so, as the old phrase goes, cop a clue, Stu! :D

  6. R says:

    I think that if you have a blog and wish to give advise on it then you are in the public domain. If you do not want to answer a question then “man up” and say so. If you do not do that then the person who is looking for advise will have no idea whether you read the comment or not. So therefore the reason for my mail which I still had no idea whether you had read it when you could have responded with a simple “get lost” or I am not interested or you are bothering me leave me alone. Anyway Mr Moser I wish you a happy life……and try not to be to judgmental.

I am curious about your comments:

