My First Day at School

SchulanfangIn Germany, on your first day of school your parents prepare a “Schultüte” for you, which is full of sweets and pencils and crayons and other useful stuff for school. This must have been in 1982.

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Education, Germany, Life, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My First Day at School

  1. This is lovely. Very symbolic too. I like the idea of sharing. Giving school the stationery is also practical too. The boy in the picture combed his hair very well. He looked very smart and confident. Thank you for the lovely image.

  2. Great stuff. Thanks for sharing. My wife has a similar shot and it is hanging on her parent’s wall.

  3. I had no idea about this. What a lovely idea!

  4. Kyra says:

    This is pretty much adorable. Is there any significance to the lady bug? For us, (i.e. in the U.S.) it just basically is an omen of good luck.
    In addition to documenting my son’s first week , this makes me want to dig up my own picture from… 1986, complete with full Catholic school uniform, peter pan collar, saddle shoes (yikes).

  5. Marie says:

    haha great picture, you looked ready to take over the world :) !

  6. deeess says:

    When that picture was taken, did you ever think that you would be a travelling-philosophical-blogging-journalist-photographing lawyer?

    • I was really nervous. And I was scared of being in a building with so many other children, most of whom I didn’t know (although I had been to kindergarten for 3 years before). I only relaxed after a few weeks when I noticed that I was academically at the top of the class. It helped that I could already read fluently, while many other kids still had to learn the alphabet. But I remained socially awkward for quite a while, maybe until today.

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

