Fog, Fog, Fog, Rain and Fog

Next week I will go to Scotland and walk the West Highland Way from Glasgow to Fort William (154 km). At the end of the trail, I will attempt to climb Ben Nevis, the highest mountain in the UK.

There is a live webcam to check the weather conditions, which at the moment look like this:

Ben Nevis webcamFirst I thought that the webcam was broken, but when I clicked on the views from other angles, I noticed that there is a little bit of landscape hidden among the fog. This doesn’t seem to be an extraordinarily bad day, because below the webcam it says: “During periods of bad weather in the Ben Nevis area, you may only see a grey picture. Don’t worry – this is genuine and is a natural phenomena called Scotch Mist!”

If this is what it looks like in the middle of summer, I am curious about autumn.

UPDATE: I am back from my walk across Scotland and on top of Ben Nevis and I had a wonderful week (from 4 to 11 July). It was beautiful weather almost for the whole time, with a lot of sunshine and great views. I did not have to wear my raincoat a single time.

About Andreas Moser

You will most likely find me in the forest, next to the lake, reading a book. Just follow the cigar smoke!
This entry was posted in Scotland, Travel, UK and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fog, Fog, Fog, Rain and Fog

  1. thegeekyg4mer says:

    Lol Good old Scotland and Northern Ireland, that’s usually all we ever get, rain or fog :) But it’s beautiful scenery when it’s not foggy! Have fun!

  2. Mjollnir says:

    Fort Bill must be the wettest place in the UK! Take a barrow-load of waterproofs! :-D

  3. Kavita Joshi says:

    so looking at this fog are you still going to do it? how many days does it take to get out of this directionless place in this weather

    • I have scheduled one week for the whole walk. If I won’t be back on 11 July, something terrible will have happened. Or I might be taking a rest for a few days.

  4. Pingback: The Phone Call from Russia | The Happy Hermit

  5. Clemens says:

    Hi Andreas, I am living in Scotland nowadays and the weather is far better than its reputation might suggest. At least this week it has been almost mediterranean ;-) So I hope/guess you had a great trip!

    • Oh yes, the weather was absolutely fabulous! I was so positively surprised both by the landscape and the weather.
      Too bad I am already back in Lithuania now, I would have loved to meet up with you. I can highly recommend walking the West Highland Way with its diverse scenery.

  6. Pingback: What to do with all the Churches? | The Happy Hermit

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

