Malta says “Thank You”

My assignment in Malta has come to an end and I am about to embark on the next adventure, but the people of Malta will not easily forget my stay with them. With my magnificent photos and my investigative reporting, I have catapulted this small island into the limelight of international attention. Even though my contributions to the public debate and my attempts to enhance the level of intellectual discourse were not welcomed by all, the overall majority of Maltese seem to feel enriched by my presence. I was therefore unable to prevent them from expressing their gratitude.

As is to be expected from a country where everybody and his cousin have a statue in some park, on a highway or at a bus stop, the people of Malta commissioned a statue for me, with my name on it and a rather good depiction of myself:

statue for Andreas Moser at the Rotunda of Mosta in Malta

Thank you very much! I appreciate this honour.

- – -

Or are the Maltese just happy to see me leave?

About Andreas Moser

Travelling the world and writing about it. I have degrees in law and philosophy, but I'd much rather be a journalist, a spy or a hobo.
This entry was posted in Malta, Photography, Religion, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Malta says “Thank You”

  1. I will miss your sense of humour! :) From the village dedicated to St. Andrew, I wish you good luck on your journey :)

    • There is a whole village dedicated to me? This is getting better and better. :-)
      Thank you for your kind words! Stay tuned, I will still be writing about Malta from time to time.

  2. John Erickson says:

    Well, all I’ll say is, if they offer you a 21-gun salute, make sure the barrels are pointed AWAY from you, okay?
    Onward and upward! :D

  3. Claire Abela says:

    I often followed your comments on the Timesofmalta page. Feel welcome to come back anytime ;)

  4. Ian Vassallo says:

    I love to read your blog! we miss you in Malta

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

