This scammer watched “Three Kings” too often.

Scammers seem to be shifting from Africa to the Middle East. After I was recently contacted by “the attorney of Hosni Mubarak”, I received the following, purportedly from Iraq:

From: “SGT DALE KING”
Sent: Mo, 28.03.2011, 23:13
Subject: From; Sgt. Dale King

I am Dale KING,  a US Marine Sgt.serving in the 3rd Battalion, 25th Marine Regiment.I am presently in Iraq.I have summoned up courage to contact you for an assistance to evacuate some cash (US$25 Million dollar ) to the States or any safe country.

SOURCE OF MONEY: Some money in various currencies was discovered and concealed in barrels with piles of weapons and ammunition at a location near one of Saddam Hussein’s old Presidential Palaces during a rescue operation and it was agreed by all party present that the money will be shared among us.

I will provide you with more details upon the receipt of your response.

In GOD we trust.

With regards,

Sgt. Dale King

Sounds familiar? Indeed: In the 1999 film “Three Kings“, US soldiers stumble across one of Saddam Hussein’s treasures after the 1991 war. Because it is a rather good film, I will use this scam as an excuse to post the trailer:

“SGT King”, you are a couple of years late with your hoax. And the 3rd Battalion of 25th Marine Regiment has left Iraq in 2005. But for those of you who want to give it a try, the reassuring return e-mail address is sgtdaleking1@mail.kz.

Just for the heck of it, I replied:

From: Andreas Moser
Sent: Mo, 11.04.2011, 22:22
Subject: From; Sgt. Dale King

That sounds remarkably like “Three Kings”, doesn’t it?

In the footer of my e-mail I had the link to this blog and thus to the exposure of the scammer himself. He didn’t get it:

From: “Sgtdale King”
Sent: Mi, 13.04.2011, 10:41
Subject: Dear Andreas Moser

Dear Andreas Moser,

Good day to you and Thank you very much for your prompt response to my email. I quite appreciate your reply and I will be glad to work with you. I have decided and willing to go into partnership with you because I am going to benefit a lot.

Meanwhile, I want to assure you that this is an opportunity for both us and all I require from you are your complete honesty and confidentiality because of my safety here in Iraq . As you know, I am trying to secure this money for my future knowing that I may not have such opportunity again in life.

Very importantly, I would like to inform you that this matter must be very confidential. You must not expose it to anyone because of my safety. This business will not take much time to conclude once I reach an agreement with you. You will be required to send your contact address, phone number, your full name and a scan copy of your ID proof. Again, I would like to know more about you, your business and family background.

I am looking forward to invest this fund in any good profitable business investment in which you may advice me, it could be in landed properties, Real Estate, Production company, Hotel Business or Auto motor Business, etc,

I have attached my picture and the picture of the money for you to be sure of what I am saying. Please these pictures must be kept confidential and it is for you alone for security reasons. I am not supposed to send it to you for security reasons but I decided to send it to you to assure you of what I am doing.

I will let you know the next step to follow once I get the information I requested from you. Your urgent response is needed because I need to take this money out of Iraq as quickly as possible following the planed withdrawal of our unit.

Thanks for your maximum cooperation.

With Regards

From,Sgt.Dale King

This was the attached photo:

I still can’t see the money, though.

About Andreas Moser

You will most likely find me in the forest, next to the lake, reading a book. Just follow the cigar smoke!
This entry was posted in Films, Military, Scams and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This scammer watched “Three Kings” too often.

  1. John Erickson says:

    Yeah, I’ve gotten that scam a few times. This is the type that infuriates me the most, because they’re using the respectability of the military as a cover. I don’t overly worry about the respectability of Nigerian princes, Zimbabwean widows, faux European lotteries, and the variety of morons trying to make me skinnier or … ahem …. fatter (in a particular place). ;) However, I’ve worked for too many years to show people why they should respect soldiers (if not the causes in which they serve) to just blow off these lying little sacks of … poop. While I have tried to trace some of these, the few real names are usually pulled out of press releases. Though I did get our government pursuing one group, with a European server (I want to say Estonia, but I may be wrong). They didn’t get anybody locked away, sadly, but the address was shut off and the owner of the server farm warned. (Yeah, not much, but you take what you can get!)
    Okay, rant over. Back to our normally scheduled insanity! :D

  2. I agree that Three Kings is a great film.
    And–you’ve clearly been receiving one version of the same spam content I’ve been seeing a ton of recently but with a twist–it’s often from African countries. Guess it just depends on which country they’re targeting at the moment.

  3. Pingback: Scammers are getting lazy | The Happy Hermit

I am curious about your comments:

