Two down, more to go.

What a year 2011 has already been in the Middle East and North Africa: In Tunisia and in Egypt, two long-term dictatorships have been toppled by street protests. If the transformation of this part of the world continues at the current rate, 2011 might turn out to be for the Middle East what 1989 was for Eastern Europe.

So which country do you think will be the next one to get rid of its oppressive regime and make a big step towards freedom? You can tick up to three countries.

Please also add a comment below with your prediction and especially with the reasons for it. As an additional incentive to get the discussion going, I advertise a book prize as a reward for the prediction that will become reality first.

About Andreas Moser

You will most likely find me in the forest, next to the lake, reading a book. Just follow the cigar smoke!
This entry was posted in Egypt, Politics, Polls and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Two down, more to go.

  1. John Erickson says:

    This is a tough one. Yemen is teetering on the brink, but I doubt if the US is willing to let anarchy break out. I don’t know as much about Morocco as I should, but I’m gonna throw my vote behind Algeria. Which will practically guarantee it will be some OTHER country! :)

    • John Erickson says:

      Oops! You wanted reasons. Let’s see – weaker central government, more recent history of throwing off colonial chains, poor population but with “first-world” relationships (through former owner France). That’s rather sketchy concepts, but that’s all I’ve got so far. I don’t predict well – I was expecting an Egyptian scenario of Army/protesters versus police/Mubarak. I am thoroughly delighted I was proven wrong!

  2. Pingback: Half Marathon at Eton | Publish or Perish – Andreas Moser's Blog

  3. Pingback: Death to the dictator, and one more wife for me please! | Publish or Perish – Andreas Moser's Blog

  4. Pingback: Auch Scammer sehen Nachrichten. | The Happy Hermit

Please leave your comments, questions, suggestions:

