Human Rights with Hollie

The debate raging in Britain about the European Convention on Human Rights has been enriched by a new pundit on the block:

(CAVEAT: I do not buy, read or even look at “The Sun”, one of Britain’s worst tabloids. Thanks to the “Liberal Conspiracy” blog for the pointer. For those unfamiliar with the British press, “The Sun” has a scantily clad girl on its page 3 every day.)

There are a lot of things to be said about the ECHR, the British position to it, and Lord Carlile‘s review of anti-terrorism laws. But for now I only take issue with Hollie’s call “to tear up the human rights law books”. Neither do we expect anything sophisticated from a model, nor does Hollie’s biography suggest any exposure to the study of law (actually there is no education mentioned at all). – But why doesn’t Hollie pack her stuff (she doesn’t have too many clothes anyway, apparently), move to a country without human rights protection and then try to publish her photos there? Maybe this would change her mind about the value of European human rights.

About Andreas Moser

You will most likely find me in the forest, next to the lake, reading a book. Just follow the cigar smoke!
This entry was posted in Feminism, Human Rights, Law, Media, Politics, Polls, UK and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Human Rights with Hollie

  1. John Erickson says:

    I must admit that while the young lady may be a formidable debater (ok, how about “motormouth”?), I don’t think I can share her views on the ECHR. Assuming those are HER views, and not just some politician’s packaged beliefs in a new wrapper. (And what a wrapper! WOW!) Ahem … um … sorry, I’m better now. Although I do have to debate one thing with you, Andreas. You refer to the Page 3 girls as “scantily clad”. I would HATE to see your idea of “half-naked”. Then again, maybe I WOULD like to see your idea of half-naked! (Nope, sorry, can’t do it. My wife knows how to use a sword, and I have several in easy reach. Must behave myself!) :)
    Besides, the message might be unpleasant, but hey, what a messenger! :D

  2. John Erickson says:

    Oh, and sorry, but I had to vote that you didn’t stand a chance next to Hollie. I enjoy your blogs, and you are a decent looking chap, but how can I put this nicely? You might drive a Ford Fiesta, but a Rolls-Royce will ALWAYS turn your head, right? Or am I just too thoroughly addicted to cars? :)

  3. newsextra1962 says:

    I agree the Sun Newspaper is just a comic and not a very good one at that..

  4. Hollie Peers says:

    Hello Andreas,
    thanks for mentioning me in your blog! I feel soooooo honoured.
    Maybe you can explain all this complicated law stuff to me? (I promise to wear more for that occasion, so that you won’t be distracted ;-)
    Hollie

  5. Who the f*** is Hollie?

  6. Old Dog says:

    One of the funniest things I’ve seen in a long while…Thank you…(I’m just trying to work out how to put it on my FB page…)

  7. Pingback: This is Britain: “Panem et circenses” | The Happy Hermit

  8. Dave says:

    I’m not sure. I lost interest when you called Hollie a hooker for absolutely no reason. What a horrible way to speak about a woman.

  9. Pingback: Is Albania already in the EU? | The Happy Hermit

I am curious about your comments:

